The government system of Afghanistan

Hello, guys welcome to my site; are you a student of political science? In this article, we will give you important information about the government system of Afghanistan.

If you are a student of political science; or study in political science then you must get this information. which is more necessary for All Law & politics students.

Islamic Republic of Afghanistan

the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan has three branches of power in the administrative structure: the executive, the legislative and the judiciary. this branches all together enable the government; to provide different services to the public.

Each branch works independently; and has a scope of work. Executive branch provides security, health care, education and another public service. The legislative branch makes and approves the laws and also keep an eye on the executive branch performance.

For example, if any executive high-level officials misuse the government resource or positions, the legislative branch can impeach or incapacitate that official in conclusion, the judicial branch interprets laws and insurers the rights of individuals and legal entities in the states.

The judiciary system in Afghanistan

The judiciary is an independent division of power in the structure of Afghanistan’s government. It functions independently with a simple structure. It is made up of the supreme court, courts of appeals and primary court.

However, the supreme court is the leading office in the judiciary. It has nine members with five divisions, called divans. All members have to be assigned by the president and approved by the Lower House of the parliament. After the approval of the House of Representatives, one of the members legally become the chief justice.

The cheap justice decides to assign other members to head Dewans.
Interpreting laws, ensuring the rights of individuals and legal entities and resolving disputes among individuals and legal entities are the main jobs of the judiciary in Afghanistan.

The court system in Afghanistan

There are formerly three types of course in the court system of Afghanistan: the supreme court, the courts of appeals and the primary court. The supreme court is the highest authority in the system and is based in the capital. It has five divisions or Dewan’s: the general criminal Dewan, public security Dewan, Civil and public rights Dewan, military Dewan and commercial Dewan.

A court of appeals comprises of the following divisions: the general criminal Division, public security division, civil family Division, public rights division, commercial Division and juvenile division.

They are a court of appeals in each of the provinces. The primary code always exists alongside the court of appeals in the provinces.

If any of the parties does not agree with the verdict, he or she may take the case to the course of appeals.
Finally, one of the parties may appeal the case to the supreme court. it is the highest court in Afghanistan and can make a final decision.

Proceedings before trial

the proceedings before a trail are part of the legal process of a case. It starts from the time of the arrest until trial. Once a suspect is arrested, he or she can be detained for up to 72 hours by the police.

During this time, the prosecutor must get end up evidence to prove that he or she should go to a pre-trial hearing.

At the hearing, the justice will decide if there is enough evidence. If there is enough evidence, the trial will be scheduled.

Once enough evidence is found to refer the suspect to the court he or she is referred to the primary court. The primary court may renew the detention time for 2 months.
The court of appeals can also extend the detention time for another 2 months if necessary.

Finally, during the trial, the supreme court has the right to extend the detention time for another 5 months. However, at the detention time runs out before the court rules on the case, the accused should be released.


Finally, we can say the government system of Afghanistan has three branches such as the judiciary branch, legislative and executive in its structure.
Formally three types of court in the system of the judiciary of Afghanistan.


  • Declaimer: this post is for educational purposes only.

Leave a Comment